Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Visa Waiver and Visa Free Travel

Visa Waiver and Visa Free Travel

Visa Waiver

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables nationals of 36 participating countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business [visitor (B) visa purposes only] for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa.  VWP eligible travelers may apply for a visa, if they prefer to do so.  Nationals of VWP countries must meet eligibility requirements to travel without a visa on VWP, meaning that some travelers from VWP countries are not eligible to use the program.  VWP travelers are required to have a valid authorization through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) prior to travel, are screened at the port of entry into the United States, and are enrolled in the Department of Homeland Security's US-VISIT program.

Visa Waiver Program Further Information

Visa Free Travel

Citizens of Canada and Bermuda travelling to the United States do not require a visa in some circumstances.  Certain purposes of travel, however, require that the traveler apply for a visa at the nearest Embassy or Consulate.  Travelers that have an ineligibility for a visa under U.S. immigration law or have previously violated the terms of their immigration status in the U.S., must apply for a visa.

Visa Free Travel Further Information